Ohio Realtors

Ohio Department of Commerce


Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing

The Ohio Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing is a part of the Ohio Department of Commerce; the Division is the official licensing agency for all 45,000 real estate licensees in Ohio. The Division is staffed by 40 professionals in Columbus and Cleveland who carry out rules handed down during the monthly Real Estate Commission meetings.

Staffers process initial applications and renewals of more than 45,000 real estate licensees annually, monitor the quality of continuing education courses and ensure the necessary credit has been obtained by license renewals.

Ohio Real Estate Commission

The Ohio Real Estate Commission is a five-member group, appointed by the Governor, that meets once a month in the Division offices. Four of the five must be active brokers. Commissioners set licensing requirements, make rules concerning licensees, handle complaints about violations of state laws and regulations and suspend and revoke licenses. Commissioners also certify courses for continuing education credit and oversee the special Recovery Account.

The members of the Commission are:

R.S. (Tre') Giller III, President
Donald R. Kenney & Company
470 Olde Worthington Rd., Suite 100
Westerville, OH 43082
Work: 614.540.2410
Term: 7/1/2016-6/30/2021

Diane Carnes, Vice President
Martin & Associates
159 E. Main St.
Chillicothe, OH 45601
Work: 740.774.4500
Term: 7/1/2017-6/30/2022

Peter McLinden
Cincinnati AFL-CIO Labor Council
1385 Tennessee Ave
Cincinnati, OH 45229
513.421.1846 (office)

Term: 7/1/2019 - 6/30/2024

Courtney Combs
Combs Group DC Realty
1 Donna Ave
Hamilton, OH 45013
(513) 829-8222

Term: 7/1/2020-6/30/2025

Terry Hankner
Comey Sheperd
6901 Wooster Pike
Cincinnati, OH 45227-4491
(513) 535-5145
Term: 4.22.2021-6.30.2025

Ohio Real Estate Appraiser Board

The Ohio Real Estate Appraiser Board functions like the Ohio Real Estate Commission. The Board is the last stop for disputes over licenses and over licensees’ actions. It can choose to renew licenses for appraisers who miss renewal deadlines; it can revoke or suspend licenses when it determines appraisers violated appraisal laws.

The Board is a Governor-appointed panel with rule making authority over the group it regulates--the appraisers. The state Legislature enacts laws concerning appraisers, such as how many hours the state requires for licensing and certification;

Board members set specific policies to carry out those laws. Its Cleveland based staff of five--known as the Appraisal Section--is an arm of the Ohio Division of Real Estate. Members include:

John J. Lynch
2001 Crocker Rd Ste 200
Westlake, OH 44145

Term: 7/1/2020- 6/30/2023

Guy Wesselkamper
Signature Appraisal Service
7932 Shelldale Way
Cincinnati, OH 45242-6431

Term: 7/1/18- 6/30/2021

Steven Rench
Third Federal Savings
7007 Broadway Ave
Cleveland, OH 44105-1490

Term: 7/1/2019-6/30/2022

Janice Buchele
The William Fall Group
300 Madison Ave Ste 900
Toledo, OH 43064

Term: 8/12/2020 –6/30/2021

Frank Woodside III, M.D.
255 E Fifth Street Ste 1900
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Term: 7/1/19—6/30/2022